el-GR  en-GB  fr-FR  de-DE
28 May 2017
The Parliamentary Dimension
The parliamentary dimension of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union, namely Parliaments’ participation in aspects of the Presidency held by member states has been considerably strengthened since the introduction of the Treaty of Lisbon.

The Treaty of Lisbon has introduced a novel practice of Trio presidencies, namely groupings of three member-states holding in turn the Presidency of the Council, each for one semester, over a period of 18 months, on a basis of a common program.

The Irish, Lithuanian and Greek presidencies form the current presidency trio from January 2013 until June 2014.

The Parliamentary Dimension of the Presidency acts in line and according to the Presidency program and in close cooperation with the other Parliaments of the presidency trio.

With a view to ensuring smooth cooperation among the Parliaments of the trio, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Chairman of the Senate of Ireland, the Speaker of the Lithuanian Parliament and the Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament have signed the Declaration of Cooperation among the Houses of the Parliaments of Ireland, Lithuania and Greece in support of the preparation and fulfillment of the parliamentary dimension of the Presidency trio for the period from 1 January 2013 to 30 June 2014.

During the Presidency, the Hellenic Parliament will host seven major events focusing on challenging issues for the European citizens and the European Union.

Parliament call center: (+30-210-3707000), Fax: (+30-210-3733566), Address: Parliament Mansion (Megaro Voulis), GR-10021, Athens
Comments&Remarks: infopar@parliament.gr  |  Technical issues: webmaster@parliament.gr